Activity Stream
227,828 MEMBERS
1687 ONLINE
greengrassforums On YouTube Subscribe to our Newsletter greengrassforums On Twitter greengrassforums On Facebook greengrassforums On Google+
banner1

Smoking While Pregnant in Alabama

Im 32 weeks pregnant and cant seem to kick the habit of smoking bud... I am a recent college graduate and have smoked almost everyday for the past 6 years. I have told myself that I would quit for good right after christmas (with that being about a month before my due date) but am afraid of the "withdrawls" that I will have and how that will affect my baby... (what i mean by withdrawls is, is that when i DONT smoke, i will get really sick, my stomach will hurt, my head will hurt, i will start cold sweating, anxious, etc.) I read somewhere that some hospitals drug test mothers after the birth and if the mother & baby test positive for marijuana then the mother will be arrested and charged with a FELONY. (child endangerment charge?). Is this a standard practice in all hospitals? Does anyone know SPECIFICALLY for Alabama? (Jefferson County) Or do they only test if they are suspicious? I already toss and turn knowing I shouldnt smoke like I do, but it honestly helps with the pregnancy aches and pains and not to mention allow me to actually eat! Im feeling trapped and scared thinking I could potentially be arrested and sent to jail right after having my baby girl... Any thoughts? Suggestions? Would it be worse for me to quit cold turkey?