Activity Stream
227,828 MEMBERS
1509 ONLINE
greengrassforums On YouTube Subscribe to our Newsletter greengrassforums On Twitter greengrassforums On Facebook greengrassforums On Google+
banner1

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Mercury Vapor and HPS Lighting

Hey All! I was wondering if a mercury vapor light that says M59 and 4H33 on it is basically stating it is compatible with Metal Halide and HPS bulbs? This may be a rudimentary question, but I am just learning about lighting.

I have been using fluoros, and have decided to make the switch to HPS for a primary lighting. I just received an offer from a guy to buy a couple HPS (so he says) lights for around 40 bucks. The only catch is that I will have to splice on some extra cord to plug the ballasts into my 110v outlet. That's no big deal, but I am wondering if maybe these aren't HPS lights at all?

The guy gave me the specs on the lights, and he said they are Day-Brite 400w ballasts with vertical reflectors (I will change these to a more enclosed, and more efficient horizontal reflector. When I went onto the Day Brite web site, it seems that these ballasts may be for mercury vapor (although I am not 100%).

So, my question: Would a Mercury Vapor ballast be labeled with the M59/H33, and not be able to use HPS bulbs? Would these ballasts not be as efficient in their light production with HPS bulbs?

The guy is going to send me a pic of the lights tomorrow night. I will see if he can send a pic of the whole light and one of the label that is on it. Any advice/help would be greatly appreciated. I just want to set up a great grow room, and a possible deal like this is too good to pass up. Oh yeah...he said he also has 4 extra bulbs he is going to throw in