Activity Stream
227,828 MEMBERS
1279 ONLINE
greengrassforums On YouTube Subscribe to our Newsletter greengrassforums On Twitter greengrassforums On Facebook greengrassforums On Google+
banner1

Total Newbie with several questions

ok first time ever growing cannabis, it is technically legal where I live, you can own and use, but not sell, barter, trade, or transport. So only legal way of course is home grown.

Now comes the strangeness if you will.
    I am currently preping an area for a hydroponics set up. It is a specialty build Giant Iguana Enclosure, no more iguana so figured use it for something.

Reason I state this is to point out the enclosure is able to be controlled for humidity (55 up to 98%), Heat 24C up to 40C, and multiple adjustable lamp sockets.
    Since optimum humidiy and temp as I calculated to date is 23c to 24c or about 75F and 40 to 60% so average 50% humidity this should work well , yes? No?

It is constructed of thick plexiglass so once the reflective liner is placed inside will be also light tight and able to handle the heat lighting produces and has access holes to allow for fan forced and natural airflow and bottom to top heat ventilation air flow.

Dimensions is the important issue for now: For Lighting Lumin count do I calculate this per Square foot / meter or Cubic ?

Structure is 6.5 feet long X 6 feet high X 3 feet front to back deep. Will contain the hydroponic set up in the front half of the enclosure with secondary shelves in the back half for cloning and first stage growths.

Top / Roof and upper half of walls (First 3 feet top to bottom I planned to line with reflective foil to allow for even reflective light dispersal, with lower half of the enclosure walls being blacked out with black foil or some such water proof material.

currently the measurements average at 117 cubic feet or 19.5 square feet of space.

So, calculating at a need for 2000 lumins per foot, do I multiply this by square feet or Cubic feet?