PDA

View Full Version : FIRST TIMER SEEKS ADVICE

greenmonster
01-13-2006, 06:19 PM
hello,
this is my first time of doing this and i need a little help with a couple of things.

1) what nutrients should i use on my babies? Presently they are 4 weeks from when i put the seed in the rockwell (now in soil) and are all different sizes. i am thinking of getting 'Dr. Hornby's Big Bud Powder' -from advanced nutrients- for the flowering period. any good? At moment i am using 'baby bio' which is something the guy in my local garden centre sold me for young plants. Is this any good or should i get a better nutrient for the veg stage? NOTE: i live in england so the brand-names are most likely different to in the USA!

2) i read on this site somewhere that a plant will double in height during the 12/12 cycle, is this true? Cause i was thinking of growing mine to about 14-16 inches and then putting them on 12/12 but if they are going to double in size afterwards i wont grow them so tall before i start them budding.

ok cheers guys.
here are some pictures of my first attempts, now i made some mistakes (not enough light at start, undecided what to grow in) and they got a bit stretched. 5 out if the 7 are fine now, but 2 are crap, going to keep them growing though just for the hell of it. Please tell me what you think!!

MONSTER!

Nochowderforyou
01-13-2006, 06:26 PM
As for brands of ferts, I don't know, but I can tell you what numbers you need to succeed :)

First, during the vegetative stage, the plants need something high in N (N-P-K). I use an organic fert for veg. as I feel it is a very important stage to a good harvest. I use 5-1-1 Fish Emulsion. Something very light for first feedings.

For flowering, you need something high in P. I use 15-30-15 during flowering, and during the last 4 weeks or so, I give it a bud swell fert that is 10-51-10.

Anything from Advanced Nutes is great, amazing fert.