PDA

View Full Version : Sexing tip

landi
07-23-2004, 04:28 AM
Hi all,

All the advice I've seen so far (yes, I'm still a newbie so I'll no doubt get flamed that everyone has been doing this for years :) ) on sexing by covering a lower branch has recommended lightproof paper, tubes or a paper bag. Not having ready access to any of those I had to rethink.

Am I the first to spot a new use for cooking foil (Bacofoil this side of the pond) here? A 12" x 12" piece moulds nicely around a lower branch without causing any damage and it stays in place on its own - unless in a hurricane. While it's early days in testing, its worth seems to be that it's sufficiently lightproof and seems to allow enough air to flow. It also saves having to use ties to secure the bags and, with care, keeps the leaves pointing the way they were intended.

I'll keep you posted if it works fully.

HTH

landi

smokejaguar
08-25-2004, 01:34 PM
Landi,,,why in the world would you want to cover only lower branches.Have I missed something.It cant properly trigger flowering.All it does is confuse the plant.It would be like having light get in during the dark phase.If theres another reason tell me.-usdi Agaluga-

Tech
08-29-2004, 09:47 AM
Jaguar you are just guessing arnt you.
Will it confuse the plant?
Or will it trigger flowering on that branch alone?
I have never herd of this being done b4 and i bin growing for years but can,t see why it wont work .
Good idea. :)

smokejaguar
08-29-2004, 01:38 PM
It shouldn't work because the hormones triggering flowering do so systemically.Therefore parts of the plant can't be segregated in a separate life phase.Its an all or none kind of thing.

guerrilla farmer
08-30-2004, 07:28 PM