PDA

View Full Version : Life after a MJ misdemeanor...

QueenB
05-19-2005, 08:25 PM
I got caught with weed in October (less than a gram) and got a misdemeanor for possession. The fine ended up being $659. Since I had been laid off, I could not afford it. And I had cancer at the time (thankfully in remission now...whew!), but hadn't gotten my med card yet, though it was in the works at the time. The sherriff didn't believe me. But, I have papers to prove it...whatever.

He searched my car and even went on my laptop. I was a high level consultant at the time.

Anyway, legal aid (the ones for the poor folks like I am now that I've been laid off) advised me that this is a low priority offense and to plead nolo contendere (no contest) and just pay the fine, which shouldn't be more than $250. Yeah right...$659 after all the "court costs"...so the total probation was way higher than they thought.

My point is, now that I am finally paying it off (hard to do when your'e broke and unemployed), I have had to deal with the misdemeanor on my record. I haven't been able to gain employment ever since. After the 4th turndown in two weeks due to it being on my background check, I did some research regarding how to get it removed. I can get it expunged. But that will take 10-16 weeks in most cases. And legal aid considers this low priority, so they won't rush it for little ol' me.

So, basically, I can't get a job now that I'm a lowly pothead drug addict. I mean, less than one bowl's worth has now dropped me into hell. I know I should have hidden it better. But, what's the point? I mean, the laws are one thing...but the stigma is the bigger thing. I mean, half the people I've worked with go out at lunch time and on breaks to toke up and party their asses off on weekends. Many of them have oz with them to sell to eachother. Yet, I have only one bowl with me on some random day, get caught sleeping and now I'm a loser? I'm still just as intelligent as BEFORE I got the ticket.