PDA

View Full Version : Entrapment? Any Lawyers out there?

Read
05-09-2005, 05:18 AM
What is entrapment?

If person "X" places a want ad for cannabis on the web and person "Y" responds to the ad. But Person "X" is Leo. Can person "Y" be prosecuted for selling? Would that be called entrapment? Could person "Y" still go to jail?
I thought Leo couldn't be the one to initiate the transfer. But if you asked Leo for durgs then he could prosecute you.. is that right?

Kinda confused cuz I saw an episode of cops where they had this fine ass cop pretending to be a hooker waiving down johns in SF. Once the john's agreed they got arrested. I thought Leo couldn't do that??!!!

420ultimatesmokage
05-09-2005, 06:23 AM
if they convinced you to do it then it is entrapment but if went along willingly then you probably couldn't say it was entrapment. i just read stuff about entrapment on the web a while ago can't remember exactly what it said

mcozzy1
05-10-2005, 09:07 AM
yeah. I'm no lawyer either. I've seen similar episodes of "Cops". That's crazy stuff. It totally looks like entrapment.

With the web stuff. I think most of the people who sell do such a good job of disguising themselves that they can't be caught. You can't bust someone over the internet. I think sellers are near impossible to track down.

I would think it would be equally difficult to bust someone for buying online. If you use a public computer for all your correspondences, they would have no way to link you to the buyer.

bhallg2k
05-10-2005, 09:18 AM
That's absolutely not entrapment, my friend. The courts have traditionally defined entrapment as someone threatening you in order to make you do something illegal.