PDA

View Full Version : Botanists or Horticulturalists?

budlover13
09-22-2010, 07:11 AM
I was just curious as to whether there are any Botanists or Horticulturalists on the forum? I'm a Land Surveyor by trade myself, but I'm a decent gardener. By NO means an expert. The forum is awesome for sharing ideas, info, and experiments, but it would be AWESOME if there were someone on the forum that has a formal education in the field. If anyone on the forum matches this description, PLEASE, make yourself known and I guarantee you will become a VERY popular member.:D:smokin:

oldmac
09-22-2010, 12:51 PM
Hi budlover13,

I have not been around much this year, but there was a young member by the nick of SauceeMcGee who was working towards his degree in botany, who loved all kinds of plants and was very knowledgable. Not sure how active he is now around here. Also I very much miss Crabbyback who had been a long time avid gardener of flowers and ornamentals, who gave excellent advice, not sure she had formal learning.

As I have been catchiing up on my reading here, it has been great to see RustyTrichome still trying to help people with plant problems. While we have had some heated discussions (not everybody agrees on everything) he is one of the best, experienced growers here at least trying to help others. I've learned a few things from him and his answers to others.

I have suggested a few times that people should read a book about plant botany or horticulture and learn about plants in general and how they work. The more you know about plants, the better you can manipulate and exploit them for your benefit. :thumbsup:

headshake
09-22-2010, 04:37 PM