PDA

View Full Version : kuri, thanks for your message

willow
01-29-2005, 04:24 AM
Hi I just posted an answer to your thread about the nft system we have. I have slanted the trays, but I didn't know about the suspended or hanging baskets. That's a good idea. I also got clear tubing so that i can see any problems but I do clean out the system and change the neuts every three days. My root rot problem started in my cloner and it kept spreading. It was awful and yucky. I thought that I had it all cleared up and my last two plants kept getting yucky and the tubes were getting clogged every day. I also found that the drain system needs improving too. I now have it so that I can take it apart to clean it. I am really new to this too. There are alot of great people here who have helped me alot. Hope you get good results, keep me posted. Willow

kuri
01-29-2005, 04:54 AM
hey willow. that is a great idea about the clear tubing!!! i'm going to home depot tomorrow and seeing if i can do the same. thanks for the idea. yeah, about the hanging baskets, it just felt wrong when we first got the system and had our seed sprout in perlite/vermiculite and when it had roots, put it in rockwool, put rockwool in the basket, put grow rocks all around it, but with the baskets sitting in the gully, it saturated the hell out of the rock wool which then led to the same problem you had....

and then there was one more thing that i learned the very HARD way. i'm trying to make this not an expensive project and i knew that vinegar and baking soda makes CO2, then i read so does water/sugar/yeast mixture and it can produce CO2 for about 2 weeks, i did that and regretted it as the whole system got a freakin' YEAST INFECTION!!! so warning: stay away from yeast/sugar/water thing. not worth it. i use the baking soda/vinegar thing now and don't mind that AND when i'm home and around, i put a candle INSIDE a big coffee can and put it in there as the burning candle is another good source of CO2.