PDA

View Full Version : pot and mentle health

tweaked
01-10-2005, 09:42 PM
Ive been smoking for 2 years now. I have bipolar,depression,ocd and anorexia. Lately when I smoke I get paranoid and start crying and get depressed and talk about depressing things then the next minute Im fine. Is that messing with my mentle health? Also, can I get psychois from this since I have illnesses? Can my meds be interacting with this? Lately Ive lost 15 lbs Im down to 88 lbs. and when I smoke I feel faint and my chest hurts is that from the eating disorder or pot too? I read that pot can lead to cancer etc. but those anti drug things are always trying to scare you to death to have you stay away from it. Oh yeah Im like totally obssessed with anything pot related etc. my gf tells me I already sound like a druggie and now Im really curous about other drugs like coke, shrooms etc. hmmm

Nullific
01-10-2005, 10:31 PM
In 1983, Gross et al also carried out a controlled experiment of delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinal to test the idea that the appetite-stimulating effects of this prominent psychoactive component of marijuana might be beneficial to patients suffering from anorexia. Tetrahydrocannabinal did not promote weight gain in the patients, and was associated with severe dysphoric reactions in about 25% of the patients. (Note however that THC is just one of ~60 psychoactives in marijuana that contribute to the high.)

Some say marijuana may help depression and bipolar, while others could say it makes it worse. Case by case it would probably depend on the amount smoked and how often, quality of the herb and medications the person is taking for it.